Chaitra Navratri 2021

Chaitra Navratri: Every year, Navratri is celebrated twice. The 9-day festival is known as Chaitra Navratri and Vasant Navratri since it falls during the spring season and is first celebrated in the months of March-April.

Chaitra Navratri, like Sharad or Maha Navratri, is a nine-night Hindu festival dedicated to Goddess Durga in her nine distinct forms, collectively known as Navdurga. Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri are the nine forms or avatars that are worshipped on a daily basis.

READ  India hosting the G20 summit in 2023

Chaitra Navratri will take place from April 13 to April 22 this year. It is observed during the Shukla Paksha of the month of Chaitra, according to the Hindu calendar. Chaitra Navratri occurs in March or April on the Gregorian calendar.

Dates for Chaitra Navratri 2021

The Goddess Durga festival this year will begin on April 13, 2021, and end on April 21, 2021.

2021 Chaitra Navratri Calendar

Day 1: Shailaputri Puja

Date: Tuesday, April 13

Pratipada is the name given to the first day of Chaitra Navratri. Devotees today worship Shailputri, an embodiment of Goddess Parvati. Several devotees place Kalash at their homes on this day.

READ  Gauahar Khan shares lovely photos with Zaid Darbar's husband, pens emotional note in laws for her

Day 2: Brahmacharini Puja

Date: Wednesday, April 14

Goddess Brahmacharini, an incarnation of Goddess Paravati, is worshipped on the second day of the holy festival. She is revered for granting emancipation (moksha) as well as harmony and prosperity.

Day 3: Chandraghanta Puja

Date: Thursday, April 15

Devotees worship Goddess Chandraghanta on Chaitra Navratri’s Tritiya day. Devotees wear white clothing on this day since it is considered auspicious.

Day 4: Kushmanda Puja

Date: Friday, April 16

Goddess Kushmanda, the Goddess of Earth’s Vegetation, is worshipped on the fourth day. She has eight arms and sits on a tiger, according to Hindu belief.

READ  Sharadiya Navratri 2020: Know Exact dates of Durga Ashtami, Mahanavami, and Dussehra

Day 5: Skandamata Puja

Date: Saturday, April 17th.

Devotees worship Goddess Skandamata on the Panchami, a sign of a mother’s strength when her child is in danger. According to Hindu mythology, the goddess has four arms and is holding a baby in one of them. She has a reputation for riding a fierce lion.

Day 6: Katyani Puja

Date: Sunday, April 18

Goddess Katyani, a Durga manifestation, is worshipped on the sixth day of the holy festival. She is regarded as the warrior goddess and is a symbol of bravery.

READ  PM Modi in Kolkata for the 125th anniversary celebrations of Bose's birth; to visit Assam as well

Day 7: Kaalaratri Puja

Date: Monday, April 19

Goddess Kaalaratri is Durga’s most ferocious manifestation. Devi Parvati, according to Hindu legend, removed her fair skin in order to defeat the demons Sumbha and Nisumbha.

Day 8: Mahagauri Puja

Date: Tuesday, April 20th.

Goddess Maha Gauri is worshipped on the eighth day of the holy festival. She is regarded as a sign of wisdom and harmony.

Day 9: Siddhidatri Puja & Ram Navami

Date: Wednesday, April 21st.

Devotees worship Goddess Siddhidatri, who is said to bestow all kinds of Siddhis, on the night day or Navami. Devotees also commemorate the birth of Lord Ram on this day.

READ  PM Modi gets emotional as he bids farewell to Ghulam Nabi Azad from Rajya Sabha

The auspicious ritual of Ghatasthapana or Kalash Sthapana always begins Navratris. Devotees of Goddess Supreme Durga fast for nine days and pray for health, mercy, and prosperity.